Closed For Remodel

I’m being completely serious when I say that Burger King is one of my most favorite restaurants. Fancy, high quality restaurants are nice, but I don’t get there often enough. BK, can easily be accessed, afforded and enjoyed just the same. My love for BK was instilled at a very young age as my dad and I would go shopping weekly (for “man” stuff: baseball cards and junk food) and our lunch selection was always Burger King. Before anyone gets worked up, I’m not crazy about their fries, but, what are they called? Burger King…that’s right, they are the king of their specialty (fast food version).

It’s not like Burger King’s are in short supply, anywhere. However, imagine my joy when I discovered my personal taste of heaven only a few blocks from my house. Upon discovery, they were in the midst of selling double cheeseburgers for a mere $.99. Pure excitement.

Well…Carly called me this week at the office to ask if I had seen the Burger King lately. I hadn’t. She proceeded to inform me that the sign says that they are “Closed for Remodel”. She quickly added that the building was gone!?!?! Huh? Some remodel!

It got me thinking…

What an amazing Burger King this is going to be when it’s rebuilt. I can hardly wait to see the “new and improved” BK…It reminds me of a phrase that Mike and Mike often say: “We’re back and better than ever!”

This is exactly the kind of “remodel” that many of us need in our lives. Too often we hang the remodeling sign on our lives and we tweak, start a new “habit” (a good one), read a self-help book, and vow to make a change; when what we really need is a brand new start.

The prophet Ezekiel says,
“Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am going to do these things, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have profaned among the nations where you have gone. I will show the holiness of my great name, which has been profaned among the nations, the name you have profaned among them. Then the nations will know that I am the LORD, declares the Sovereign LORD, when I show myself holy through you before their eyes…I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.
Ezekiel 36:22-23;26-27

Call me strange, but these powerful words have been swimming through my mind each time I think of the complete remodel that Burger King is undergoing. I believe this is what God requires of us when our hearts become so hardened that we no longer listen to his voice. It’s not enough to fiddle around with a tweak here or there. It’s not good enough anymore to just try again, or give some new angle on serving God a try. We need our heart of stone removed. The walls need to come down and a brand new building needs to be started. We need to fall in love with Jesus all over again.

So, as you travel past your nearest Burger King (most of which are stuck in the early nineties and need a serious cleaning), consider your own heart. I know my sign is posted.

One response to “Closed For Remodel

  1. check out my blog post today…..it is my long overdue way to calculated apology to you and the mrs. for missing the party. it is my real excuse. I just wish it was a good one. gimme a call I am serious about the birthday dinner. I will even get hats.

Leave a Reply

